R.I.P. 2009 Detroit Pistons – Season in Review

I don’t want to put too much effort into a review of the Piston’s season because anyone who finds this blog will more than likely have already read one from any of the Pistons sites on the left. I’ll admit, I was one of the fans that thought we were getting this Iverson when we were really getting this one.

For me, the highlight of the season was the Cavs game at the Palace on November 19th. It was the only game I attended in-person this season (lame, I know, but it’s all I could do on a college budget) and was probably the peak of the Iverson-as-a-Piston hype.

There were other great moments, like Stuckey’s 40-point game, Chauncey’s return to the Palace (via Need4Sheed) and McDyess’ 21/22 night, but in reality the season was over when the Chauncey-Iverson trade was made. If you haven’t read Tom Friend’s piece on Chauncey up at ESPN, go now. Seriously, now. Articles like this are few and far between.

The Pistons are absolutely lost without him. Before he left, Chauncey had been Pistons head coach Michael Curry’s truest ally, and even had hired Curry’s sister-in-law to be his nanny. But, without Chauncey, Curry has no sergeants, no one to talk Rasheed Wallace off the ledge or lower Hamilton’s blood pressure.

Meanwhile, back East, the Pistons — who finish their season under .500 — are being swept by the Cavaliers. Iverson has spent the year griping about playing time and is out with a back injury. “I guess they found out what I meant to the team,” Chauncey says.

Pure gold. As sad as it is to be out of the playoffs this early for the first time since I was thinking about my prom date, I couldn’t be happier to see Chauncey revitalizing his hometown Nuggets. Like many Pistons fans, I hope they are able to beat the winner of the closer-than-expected Lakers-Rockets series and fend off the Cleveland LeBrons Cavaliers for an NBA title. Chauncey has always been a stand-up guy and I’d love to see him get the second title he should have had four years ago.

As for the Pistons, I want to see Joe D go after a big-time post presence this summer, even if it means the end of the line for Rip Hamilton or Tayshaun Prince in the home whites. Chris Bosh and Emeka Okafor are names that come to mind, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Joe D pulls a stunner for one of the high draft picks to take Hasheem Thabeet or, God-willing, Blake Griffin.

One name I do not want to hear from John Mason next season is Ron Artest. I’ve heard rumblings about how Artest is playing much more under control and would be a great fit to guard LeBron and Paul Pierce in the East, but there’s no forgiving The Brawl. Also, Artest has been a head case on every team he’s ever played for not coached by Rick Adelman. Michael Curry would be even more of a deer-in-headlights than he ever was this season with Iverson, Hamilton, and Sheed doing whatever they pleased. It would be very hard for me to root for this team next season if Artest is on the payroll.

All in all, it is an understatement to call this season a disappointment. I have faith that Joe D will put this team back on the right track for the future. We may struggle next season, especially if LeBron and the Cavs bring a ‘ship to Cleveland in June (much like Jordan and the Bulls in the ’90s), but believe this: the Pistons will be back.

3 Responses to “R.I.P. 2009 Detroit Pistons – Season in Review”

  1. […] know I already linked this in my Pistons eulogy but Tom Friend’s piece on Chauncey Billups over at ESPN is a must […]

  2. […] poorly as last season ended for the Pistons, I think it adds to the excitement surrounding the team for this year. There are […]

  3. […] Grizzlies) under 80 points is an achievement. Would Ben Gordon and Rip Hamilton coexist after the A.I. experiment failed? 47 of the Pistons’ 96 points offers a resounding “yes.” Is Big Ben too […]

Leave a comment